I have nothing but praise and gratitude for Dr. Steuer and his incredible and capable team! I had been living with pain for quite sometime, had been in physical therapy numerous times to try and put off a cervical fusion. The time came to deal with it. I asked numerous people for surgeon recommendations and I interviewed 3. The compassion, concern and capability that Dr. Steuer offered me was far above the others. He spent lots of time with me and answered all my questions. I am now 3 months post-op and am doing great! I'm so glad I finally had the surgery and am looking forward to getting back my active lifestyle and am so thankful to be out of constant pain. Thank you again Dr Steuer for all you did for me and another high 5 for your amazing team! Thank you so to Dr. Steuer
More
Sherri S. | Jan 21, 2024
Dr. Cooper is Dr. Steuer’s right hand man, his practice ethics are very thorough and professional! Like Dr. Steuer, His communication with me was spot on! When he was addressing me, I felt that I was his main priority! This team of medical professionals are dedicated to their practice!
More
Myra M. | Jan 18, 2024
I met with Dr. Steuer on a consultation, on a recommendation of a chiropractor. He interviewed me about my problems, and examined my MRI’s ( one from 2018, the other from just a few months before my appt. I’d been suffering with pain over 5 years, frightened of back surgery.) Immediately, he eased my concerns, explain the surgery I needed is one he has done many many times, which especially caught my ear. When he said he believed he could relieve most of my pain, we were off! Within a few days, my surgery was scheduled, and my new attitude had me willingly anticipating it. Dr. Steuer had removed my doubt; his demeanor, experience and knowledge had me on board! I am now two weeks post surgery, and still confident he was the best choice! He and his entire staff have been nothing short of amazing, I am so grateful we crossed paths!
More
Myra M. | Jan 18, 2024
Went to Dr. Steuer for severe nerve pain. I had four cervical disks that had worn out totally. Dr. Steuer performed a rare four disk fusion, replacing the failed disks with artificial disks packed with bone growth material . The operation lasted five and a half hours. Dr. Steuer spent extra time removing difficult bone spurs. After the operation, he came to update us on the outcome. My wife and I could tell that he was proud of the job that he did.After a few days the severe pain was gone. Two weeks later the pain is gone and I have no issues whatsoever. I am truly grateful for Dr. Steuer and his team. August and Carter Cooper really helped as well. I highly recommend Dr. Steuer and his team.
More
Richard F. | Jan 16, 2024
I had severe neck and arm pain for the past year and was referred to Dr. Steuer by a colleague. After Dr. Steuer reviewed the x-ray and MRI, he determined that I needed Cervical Spine surgery. I was very nervous to have this done, but Dr. Steuer, his PA, Carter Cooper, and his medical assistant August were so kind and reassuring that I knew I was in good hands. My surgery was successful and has made a huge difference in my daily life. I am now in PT and progressing nicely. I cannot stress enough how wonderful this practice is and I would recommend them highly to anyone who needs a fantastic neurosurgeon.
More
Sheila B. | Jan 16, 2024
Words cannot adequately express how amazing Atlanta Progressive Spine & Neurosurgery Associates are, Dr. Max Steuer and his dream team of PA Carter Cooper and Medical Specialist August are a unique blend of competence, caring, and kindness. From my first visit to my last, they offered their professional expertise and genuine concern. They listened attentively. They were not rushed or in a hurry. They provided answers to all questions. The office is managed efficiently so you do not have long wait times for your appointment. You are seen almost immediately. Prior to my first visit with Dr. Steuer I had had multiple injections and months of PT with no results. When I decided to see a neurosurgeon, things changed quickly. Dr. Steuer diagnosed my problem as soon as he saw my MRI. He felt confident in what needed to be done. Surgery was scheduled within two and a half weeks. Dr, Steuer performed surgery in December, 2023. Three weeks later we are both very pleased with the outcome. This practice and medical team are a model for what medicine should to be like and what used to be years ago. It is a very rare find in today’s world.
More
Gail G. | Jan 10, 2024
I am so impressed with Dr. Max Stauer, Carter Cooper, August, and the entire staff at Atlanta Progressive Spine & Neurosurgery Associates. I’ve known Dr. Steuer for over ten years I visited him again in August of 2023 with debilitating nerve and back pain. I was thinking that life as I know it was drastically going downhill, no more hiking, walking, exercising in these beautiful mountains of North Georgia. After scans, etc., another Laminectomy wasn’t possible and he talked with me about Anterior/Posterior Lumbar Spine Fusion. I’d never heard of this particular surgery but I completely trusted Dr. Steuer’s recommendations, and we proceeded with a plan. I had surgery on November 29, at Northside Atlanta Hospital. The entire experience, Dr. Steuer and his staff as well as the Northside Hospital staff, was exceptional! I can’t say enough positive things about all involved!!!! I went home after 5 days with detailed instructions on aftercare and moving my body while I’m healing. In my opinion, Dr. Steuer is the best in his field. He possesses great communication skills, honesty, positive patient outcome, a great team, a personalized approach, and a kind and empathetic spirit. He genuinely cares.
More
Sandra W. | Jan 09, 2024
Phenomenal care and skill. Can’t recommend enough Dr Steuer, Carter and their entire team. Very compassionate and truly concerned for their patients well being. Best team any back issues. Thank you!
More
Nuria C. | Dec 28, 2023
I was suffering from lower back pain from a cyst that was pinching a nerve that had to be removed. One of my other doctors recommended Dr. Steuer and so glad he did. All the steps and visits leading up to the decision to do surgery were handled professionally, promptly, and in each visit, Dr. Steuer and Dr. Cooper explained things very clearly. I was in such pain, the staff went out of their way to expedite scheduling of surgery. After surgery, it was total relief!! All my previous pain was gone. Two weeks after surgery I’m fully released and can go on with life with no issue!! Dr. Steuer is very experienced and has a very compassionate approach to dealing with his patients. This compassionate approach is evident in how Dr. Cooper and every staff member treats their patients in such a pleasant and caring way. I always felt very welcomed and very cared for. I would highly recommend Dr. Steuer and the whole team. Thank you Steuer Tram for the relief!!
More
Isidore G. | Dec 12, 2023
Organized, efficient, compassionate, excellent technical skills and judgement
More
Lucy A. | Nov 28, 2023
Excellent care from the office staff, billing department, and especially Dr. Steuer and Dr. Cooper. They successfully removed the synovial cyst on my spine that was pinching the nerves. Highly recommend!
More
Bonnie B. | Nov 28, 2023
Two years of pain, not able to stand up straight and eventually walking with a cane hunched over just to have some relief. Never a big fan of surgery but could not stand it much longer. Surgery allowed me a return to a normal life. I’m pain free, walking straight and believe it or not starting to swing my golf clubs again! Great experience and highly recommend for anyone suffering with chronic back issues.
More
Paul E. | Oct 31, 2023
I can walk again! Nerve pain is gone…Dr. Steuer and Carter were very professional and kept me informed throughout the entire process. Very grateful!
More
Paul E. | Sep 30, 2023
Dr. Steuer restored my quality of life. I was in such severe pain 24/7 due to a herniated disc. I had consulted with numerous doctors for a year--all to no avail. Dr. Steuer looked at my MRI and scheduled me for a minimally invasive procedure. Within a few days I was walking pain-free again. By the second week after surgery, I was at the gym walking on a treadmill, and soon thereafter started rehab exercises. I'm so happy to be restored to normalcy! Dr. Steuer is kind and compassionate, and an outstanding surgeon.
More
Deborah M. | Aug 23, 2023
When I walked into Dr. Steuer’s office in September 2019 Carter was shocked that I was walking. (That’s just how bad my condition was.) I’m thankful to Jehovah I was placed in Dr. Steuer’s hands. Today I’m pain free, walking and had only 2% loss in range of motion! His staff all deserve a gold star for their care and compassion. Peggy D
More
Peggy D. | Aug 17, 2023
"I had been suffering with sciatica pain for 10 weeks. It was horrific! I was up all hours of the night, pain medicine didn’t work, and the orthopedic clinic I was seeing sent me to PT with no MRI and no improvement. Thankfully, a friend recommended Dr. Max Steuer as a 2nd opinion. He referred to him as the “doctor’s doctor!” From the first moment I meed Dr. Steuer, I felt like a person - not a number! He listened and had me in the MRI machine with insurance approval within 24 hours. He also met me immediately after my MRI to review the results. I’m 3 weeks out of surgery and have no sciatica pain! I am so pleased with Dr.Steuer and his staff that I’ve already referred him two friends. I now know why he’s deemed the doctor’s doctor in Atlanta! Btw… His staff is as incredible as he is!" 
More
"Dr. Steuer is who you need when you have back problems! Had a different doctor at first who just could not seem to fix my problem. Found Dr. Steuer and one surgery later, I am able to stand up, walk, and sit straight in a chair without debilitating nerve pain - all things I could not do before he operated. Gave me my life back!!"
More
Wendy M.
"He was very concerned about my reason for being there. Had originally scheduled me as an outpatient but for my piece of mind and due to other health reasons he allowed me to switch to inpatient. He is very confident in his work and I can’t wait to have him perform mine!!!"
More
Stacey L.
"My Dad Is Surfing again with me (Thank you)"
More
Gabriel L.
"Fine man and a great doctor"
More
Dianne M.
"My husband had spine surgery performed yesterday. Dr. Steuer and Carter are nothing less than magnificent! There is not one negative thing I can say about the Doctor and his staff! Everything was very detailed and planned accordingly. Not once was there a glitch or lack of communication. From start to finish, it could not have been more perfect. After years of arm pain and partial immobility, my husband has his arm back and is able to feel me holding his hand. Time to get back to cuddling! Thank you, Dr. Steuer and Carter! If there was a rating for 10+, you would earn it. None are better than you!!!"
More
Nancee S.
"Dr. Steuer and his team are excellent. They were recommended to me by two friends. I was impressed from the time I initially made the appointment to the outcome and game plan from today's meeting."
More
Peter L. J.
"Very impressed with this office location and staff. I have been a patient of Dr Steuer since 2015. Very happy with the outcome of my back surgery."
More
Melissa W.
"Dr.Steiner did surgery on me over 20 years ago. He and his whole staff was amazing! He was caring, extremely knowledgeable, and had a great bedside manner."
More
Peggy F.
"Dr Steuer and his staff are the most compationate and caring I've ever encountered in the medical field, they're honest and are eager to help you."
More
Robert P.
"Dr. Steuer has a very calming presence. The team was very personable and competent during my initial visit. I'm really looking forward to their care."
More
Raymone W.
"Everyone in his office is well-trained, very professional and helpful."
More
Barbara W.
"Dr. Steuer is very impressive. From his encouraging bedside manner during office visits and surgery to the thoroughness with which he dedicated to my case."
More
Rebecca F.
"Dr. Steuer is a great doctor. He and his staff have taken all the necessary time with me and then some, to diagnose and plan possible procedures for the future."
More
Jamie K.
"Dr. Steuer was very personable and made me feel comfortable. He uses good humor and asks a lot of questions."
More
Andrew M.
"After surgery, they didn’t rush me out the door like many providers do. They also have a physical therapy center on site with knowledgeable team."
More
Mark J.
"The level of expertise, knowledge, professionalism, patient care—ALL of it—-exceeds expectations!"
More
Dan B.
"Very impressed with everyone!! The staff there is extremely friendly ,upbeat, very positive attitudes very much a pleasure to interact with."
More
Jeff H.
"The surgical staff were friendly and the whole process went smoothly."
More
Matt M.
"Any future spinal or cervical issues I experience, Dr Steuer and his team will be my first call."
More
Thomas C.
"Dr Steuer and his entire staff have been absolutely amazing. Everyone has been patient and taking the time to address my questions and concerns."
More
Alan T.
"Dr. Steuer and his team are a class act. They have helped me with surgeries over the years, and continue to do all they can for me."
More
Moe S.
"Outstanding dr. tells you like it is very straightforward kind of a no nonsense doctor was very helpful!"
More
John N.
"I had gotten two identical diagnoses for my surgical issue but immediately felt more comfortable with his humane and honest approach."
More
Theodore B.
"That being said, I love Dr Steuer and am very satisfied with my post op surgery progress."
More
Debbie W.
"Dr. Steuer is the only surgeon I would consider. The surgery center is excellent as well. Great staff."
More
Steve S.
"Dr. Steuer took my symptoms seriously, promptly ordered appropriate imaging, and was able to provide me with a diagnosis (for a fairly serious problem) within a week."
More
Cynthia S.
"There is not one negative thing I can say about the Doctor and his staff! Everything was very detailed and planned accordingly."
More
Nancee S.
"I was impressed from the time I initially made the appointment to the outcome and game plan from today's meeting."
More
Peter J.
"More than all of that, his team are absolutely attentive and amazing. I'm better today because of him and his team so much..."
More
Rachelle O.
"Dr. Steuer will not push unnecessary procedures, and will explore all other possibilities (rest, physical therapy, medication, etc) before suggesting surgery."
More
J W.
"The recovery was supposed to be between 4 and 8 weeks and the day after the surgery I felt better than I had in a year."
More
Russell M.
"Definitely the most qualify and experienced neurosurgeon in the world."
More
Sebastien R.